In collaboration with NKWP we award two prizes each year:

The jury of the Els Witte Annual Prize for Political Science 2021 awards the best PhD dissertation in political science (and related disciplines). The dissertation was defended in 2020 at a Belgian / Dutch university or elsewhere, but relates to Dutch or Belgian politics.

Nominations can be sent to Tim Mickler,

Deadline for submission: March 1, 2021.


For the Daniël Heinsius Thesis Prize, teachers and students from the Netherlands and Belgium can propose a master thesis, assessed in the year 2020 with the mark 8 or higher (16/20).

Submissions, including the thesis itself and proof of the score obtained, can be sent to Emile Van Ommeren;

The deadline for submission: March 1, 2021.

The prizes will be awarded during the Politicologenetmaal on 3 June 2021.

Laureates 2019:
dr. David Bokhorst (University of Amsterdam) 
Laure van Megen (Leiden University)

Laureates 2018:
dr. Koen Damhuis (European University Institute) 
Lea Smidt (Maastricht University)

Laureates 2017:
dr. Fransje Molenaar (Leiden, Clingendael)
Hayo Raaphorst (Maastricht University)

Laureates 2016:
dr. Eefje Steenvoorden (UvA, Assistant Professor Erasmus Univeristy)
Louke Huijzer (UvA)   

Laureates 2015:
dr. Ruth Dassonneville (KU Leuven, docent Université de Montréal)
dr. Paul van Hooft (Universiteit van Amsterdam, Max Weber Fellow EUI)
Amélie Godefroidt (KU Leuven)

Laureates 2014:
dr. Ann-Kristin Kölln (Twente, Associate Professor University Aarhus)
Patrice Wangen (Maastricht, European University Institute)

Laureates 2013:
dr. Wouter Veenendaal (Leiden, Assistant Professor Leiden)
dr. Matthijs Rooduijn (UvAmsterdam, Assistant Professor UvA)
Zoran Lazic (UvAmsterdam, Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

Laureates 2012:
dr. Gijs Schumacher (VU Amsterdam, Assistant Professor University of Amsterdam)
Femke Avtalyon Bakker (Leiden)

Laureates 2011:
dr. Marlies Casier (U Gent, Visiting Professor U Gent)
Debby Vos (Universiteit Antwerpen, Rekenhof)

VPW Twitter Feed

17 December 2020:
9th edition 'Belgium: State of the Federation' (virtual)